#CoverReveal #ComingSoon #BookBlitz #Mercy #Thriller #DetectiveMattDeal @StephenBentley8 @Shalini_G26

Today I am so thrilled to be taking part in the cover reveal for Stephen Bentley’s upcoming thriller Mercy which is the first instalment in the new Detective Matt Deal series. The ebook is due for release on the 30th of November published by Hendry Publishing.

Wow what a cover! It is chilling which is the perfect for the tone of the book. Let’s see what Stephen has in store for Detective Matt Deal’s first case.

Book Blurb

His daughter was taken. He’ll never get her back.

Set in the near future, Matt Deal is a British businessman married into a wealthy Florida family.

Mercy, his fifteen-year-old daughter, is the glue in his rocky marriage to Lorey. His life is changed forever after Mercy is brutally sexually assaulted on a Destin beach leaving her in a persistent vegetative state.

Trusting the local detectives to bring the rapists to justice, mixed martial arts expert Deal concentrates in vain on his Florida gym business, only to have his world further explode on learning the men responsible for his daughter’s injuries may escape justice. Deal is isolated and at his wit’s end after his rich father-in-law sends death threats blaming him for all these ills.

Who can he turn to? Where can he go? What will he do? Who can he trust?
Will he return to a post-Brexit Britain or ultimately will he seek revenge?

Fans of Jack Reacher, Barry Eisler, and any vigilante justice novel will love this book.

Genre: crime fiction (noir)/thriller/urban fiction with some graphic scenes and language.

Excerpt

As a special treat here is an excerpt from Mercy.

As much as he tried to hide it, Deal felt nervous as he knocked on the door of Internal Affairs. 

The voice resonated in his head. “Enter.”

It was the tone, the command, the authority in the voice that reminded him why he was nervous. One false word, one false move and I’m fired, he thought.

Reading the open file, Emily Breen looked up through heavy-rimmed glasses before speaking again. “We meet again, Detective Deal. Sit.”

Breen pointed to a regular-looking seat on the opposite side of the desk from her high-backed executive chair. She continued reading. Deal sat watching her in silence. 

Peering over her glasses, Breen said, “Remind me. When was the first time we met?”

“I think you know. It’s all there in my file. Larry Etchwell, Coroner’s Court. I was still with the Human Trafficking Department.”

Breen was silent. She appeared to be deep in thought.

Her next words broke the silence. “The psych evaluation is all good. Says you are fit to remain on active duty.”

“Good. I knew that but it’s good to hear the experts say it too.” Deal emphasised experts. The sarcasm wasn’t missed by Breen.

“Deal. You know the score. Why do you make things difficult for yourself?”

Deal ignored caution. “I always do things the hard way. Haven’t you heard?”

Breen ignored him. “What is this thing with the stutter?”

“How do you mean?”

“You’ve seen the report. What you told the shrink.”

“Remind me. What did I say?”

“If you were a rattlesnake, the stutter would be your rattle.”

Deal smiled at the thought of that meeting with the shrink. “Yeah. That’s what I said. It’s a fact.”

“But why? Why a stutter?”

“I don’t fucking know why. Why does a rattlesnake have a rattle?”

“There you go again, Detective Deal.”

“What?”

“Not helping yourself.”

“Are we done?”

“No. We are not. I have to tell you, one more loss of control. One more death, self-defence or not, you are finished. Do you hear me?”

“I hear you.”

“Good. Is there anything else you wish to say?”

“Can I ask a question?”

“You may.”

“Why does a bird fly?”

“What do you mean?”

“Asking me why I stutter if threatened is like asking a bird why it flies. Why an elephant has big ears. It’s just so. And one other thing – ask these guys what they were going to do to me.”

“I can’t. You killed them.”

“Too right. Before they killed me.” 

Amazon Preorder Links

| Amazon AU | Amazon US | Amazon UK |

As a special deal when you preorder you get it for the bargin price of 99c/99p.

Price reverts to $3.99 upon release.

About Stephen Bentley

Stephen Bentley is a former UK Detective Sergeant, barrister, and author of a bestselling undercover cop memoir. He also writes crime fiction.

Stephen’s Contact Details

Bookbub
https://www.bookbub.com/profile/stephen-bentley

HuffPost UK Blogger
https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/stephen-bentley/spycops-is-there-such-a-t_b_12857408.html

Website 
https://www.stephenbentley.info/

Books2Read
https://books2read.com/ap/n6Pgrx/Stephen-Bentley

Amazon Author Page
https://www.amazon.com/Stephen-Bentley/e/B01CNPG7K6/

All Author 
https://allauthor.com/author/stephenbentley/

Twitter
https://twitter.com/StephenBentley8

Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/author_stephen_bentley/

Cover Reveal Organiser

Special thank-you to Shalini from Digital Reads Blog Tours for the invite to take part in this cover reveal.

Website | Facebook | Twitter |

If you like this please share

4 thoughts on “#CoverReveal #ComingSoon #BookBlitz #Mercy #Thriller #DetectiveMattDeal @StephenBentley8 @Shalini_G26

Leave a Reply