You’ve got seven days…then you’re next! #Review #CutYouDead #PsychologicalThriller #AusBookBloggers @AJWaines @Bloodhoundbook

Today I am so thrilled to be sharing my review on its publication day for A.J. Waines Cut You Dead published by Bloodhound Books. Happy publication day Alison!

Book Details

Cut You Dead by A.J. Waines
Release Date: 2nd of April
Format: Kindle Format
Pages: 351 pages
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Buy Link
Amazon |
*Please note that this is not an affiliated link*

Book Blurb

You’ve got seven days… then you’re next

When a young woman falls to her death from a balcony, everyone thinks she lost her balance taking a daredevil selfie – until psychologist, Samantha Willerby, steps onto the scene. Called in by the Met to examine a series of cold cases, she uncovers a chilling link between this death and two others. The victims have one shocking detail in common: their hair was hacked off exactly seven days before they were killed.

When it comes to light that Sam knew one of the victims, she’s determined to break all the rules to track down this calculating serial killer with a terrifying calling card.

But the victims aren’t the only ones being watched. When Sam’s hair is slashed, she knows one thing for certain. She has only seven days before the murderer finishes the job. Can Sam get inside the mind of a ruthless killer before her first profiling case proves to be her last?

An utterly addictive fast-paced crime thriller, Cut you Dead will have you hooked from the first page. It will appeal to fans of authors such as L.J. Ross, Mark Billingham and Angela Marsons.

Cut You Dead can be read as part of the Samantha Willerby Series or as an unmissable stand-alone.

It has been an extremely long wait for us readers for the release of Cut You Dead, the fourth instalment in best selling Samantha Willerby series. 511 days to be exact! Yes, 511 days! The 8th of November 2018 was when the third book, Perfect Bones was released, so let me tell you, I was beyond excited when I was offered to read an advance copy of this new addition. I really couldn’t reply back to the email quick enough and nearly broke my iPad in the process! So was Cut You Dead worth the wait? Read on to find out…

I am not going to talk about the plot as the blurb gives more than enough of a tease and it really is best going in with just that. What I will say on it is that Alison has created a plot-line straight out of the darkest part of her wicked mind. It is an intriguing storyline that is really well structured and moves so seamlessly from the present to the past as the story unfolds, where it leads to a thrilling and satisfying conclusion.

What Alison achieves with this story is to make the reader feel uneasy and on edge as she builds up the tension and suspense throughout. With a serial killer that leaves an interesting calling card and process to kill their victims, I was on the edge of my seat on a number of occasions, as I furiously flipped the pages on my Kindle. Alison really is a credit to this genre and she knows just how to tease the reader and keep you hooked, which she expertly does in all of her books.

Alison has done such a great job with Sam. With each book, I like her more and more. She is strong-willed and I love how she pushes the boundaries to get justice. Although not without flaws, she really is a great lead character and I really liked the developments that occurred for her in this book. I am really looking forward to seeing how they will evolve going forward. All the other characters are also brought to life really well and play their roles out perfectly.

Cut You Dead is an addictive tense read. It is perfectly paced with well-developed characters, all told through engaging writing. With what is going on in the world at the moment as we find ourselves with more time on our hands, it is the perfect time to read this, as once you start you will not be able to stop. As each chapter ends, it dares you to put it down which is almost impossible to do! While Cut You Dead can be read as a standalone, you would be missing out not reading the other books in this fantastic series.

So to loop back to the beginning of my review. Was Cut You Dead worth the wait? Absolutely it was! It is stunning read from (as I mentioned in my review for Alison’s last book Enemy at the Window) “an insanely talented author” and I could not get enough of it! I would even say that this is the best book in the series yet! It was an absolute pleasure to read and review Cut You Dead which I highly recommend and is a contender to be part of my best books for 2020.

Thank you to Ashley Capaldi from Bloodhound Books for providing me with a free copy of the Cut You Dead ebook which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to NetGalley, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Amazon Australia, Amazon US, Barnes and Noble & Waterstones. As I am from Australia, unfortunately, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

Let’s Get to Know Alison

AJ Waines is a number one international bestselling author, topping the entire UK and Australian Kindle Charts in two consecutive years, with Girl on a Train. Following fifteen years as a psychotherapist, the author has sold nearly half a million copies of her books, with publishing deals in UK, France, Germany, Norway, Hungary, Czech Republic and Canada.

Her fourth psychological thriller, No Longer Safe, sold over 30,000 copies in the first month, in thirteen countries. AJ Waines has been featured in The Wall Street Journal and The Times and has been ranked a Top 10 UK author on Amazon KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing). 

Stay up to date with Alison’s work by signing up to her newsletter and following her on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Goodreads  |

Publisher

Stay up to date with upcoming releases from Bloodhound Books by checking out their website and following them on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |   Twitter  |   Instagram  |

Share the book love

1 Comment

  1. […] If you would like to read my review you can do so by clicking here […]

Comment