The first mystery she must solve is herself… #Review #BlogTour #BuriedDeep #CrimeThriller #NetGalley #AusBookBloggers @SusanWilkins32 @Bookouture

Today I am thrilled to be one of the bloggers kicking off the blog tour on its publication day for Buried Deep by Susan Wilkins. Happy publication day Susan!

Book Details

Buried Deep by Susan Wilkins
Release Date: 6th of April
Format: Kindle
Print Length: 325 pages
Genre: Crime Thriller
Publisher: Bookouture
Buy Links:
|  Amazon |  Apple Books |  Kobo  |  Google Play  |
Please note that these are not affiliated links

Book Blurb

Megan has to climb round and step across the body to get a proper view. What’s left is like a chalk white mask in the rough shape of a face. The innocence is still there, and a hint of the cheekiness. But perhaps she is imagining that.

Detective Megan Thomas moved to Devon for a fresh start, after years spent undercover. She’s staying with her sister and swimming in the sea daily, battling the tides and letting the waves wash her past away. But she can’t outrun everything.

On her first day back, she’s called to a murder. The body lies deep in an underground bunker, and when Megan forces herself to look, it triggers a panic attack. As her heart races and her breathing stalls, she realises she’s not sure if she can go back to life in a regular crime unit. Her memories are too powerful to be buried – maybe too powerful to let her do her job.

But when another body is found on the stretch of beach where she swims every day, Megan remembers why she joined the force, and what she’s fighting for. The victim came to the police for help, and Megan knows they failed her. She won’t rest until she gets answers. But how can she find justice for others, when she’s no longer sure of herself?

A completely gripping new series from bestselling author Susan Wilkins, introducing the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.

There is nothing like a new fresh series to sink your teeth into and Buried Deep fits the bill perfectly. Set against the beautiful landscape of Devon, Susan delivers a thrilling read that will have you gripped and enthralled right from the beginning.

Susan has created a plot that had me instantly hooked. The story follows Detective Megan Thomas as she moves to Devon leaving behind a five year career which was spent working undercover for the Metropolitan Police. Now working for the regular crime unit, she is barely settled in on her first day, when she is called to the scene of a murder.

But this triggers her to have a panic attack and with it brings back memories that leave her questioning whether she is able to do her job. When another body is found, Megan must pull herself together if she is to solve the crime and stop the killer before they strike again.

I really enjoyed all the characters in the story and main protagonist Detective Megan Thomas makes for a great lead. She is tough but not without her own flaws and issues which are touched on briefly and I look forward to the layers being peeled back as we learn more about her.

Buried Deep is an addictive read. It is well structured, has an interesting plot, well developed characters that Susan brings all together with writing that is fluid, engaging and captures the reader in its prose.

A new author for me, Susan is now on my radar and I look forward to reading more books in this series in the future. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review Buried Deep which I highly recommend.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Susan Wilkins for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Buried Deep which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to NetGalley, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Amazon Australia, Amazon US, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play, Barnes and Noble & Waterstones. As I am from Australia, unfortunately, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

Buried Deep Blog Tour

Follow the tour and see what these fantastic bloggers also thought about Buried Deep.

Thank you to Bookouture for my spot on the Buried Deep blog tour and for providing me with the promotional materials.

Let’s Get to Know Susan

Susan Wilkins also writes as S.J. Wilkins

Susan worked for years in television drama, wrote for shows including Casualty, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders and created the London-based detective drama South of the Border.

Her gritty, Essex-based gangster trilogy – THE INFORMANT, THE MOURNER and THE KILLER – has been compared to Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers and described as “blazingly brilliant” (Sunday Mirror).

IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ME, her fourth book is a twisty psychological thriller, featuring police detective Jo Boden, an ambitious cop still grieving for a murdered sister.

For 2020 a completely gripping new series from Susan introduces the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last. 

Writing as S.J. Wilkins, A KILLER’S HEART – a tense and timely political thriller, is now available on Kindle.

Stay up to date with Susan’s work by subscribing to the mailing list on her website and by following her on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |


Stay up to date with upcoming releases from Bookouture by following them on these social media accounts.

|  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |

Share the book love

1 Comment

  1. […] The first mystery she must solve is herself… #Review #BlogTour #BuriedDeep #CrimeThriller #NetGall… […]