His daughter’s missing…And she knows your secret…#Review #TheSilentDaughter #Thriller #AusBookBloggers @claireawheeler

Today I am thrilled to be sharing my review on its publication day for The Silent Daughter by Claire Amarti. Happy publication day Claire.

Book Details

The Silent Daughter by Claire Amarti
Release Date: 7th of May 2020
Format: Kindle
Print Length: 330 pages
Genre: Thriller
Buy Links:
|   Amazon  |   
Please note that this is not an affiliated link

Book Blurb

“Schoolgirl missing”, the ticker reads, and the camera cuts to a girl’s face. Blonde hair waterfalling over her shoulders, serious eyes, lips a little parted like she’s about to speak. That’s when I realize I’ve been holding my breath, because the gasp when I inhale almost chokes me.

Sadie Kelly has lost her job. Until last month, she was a teacher at Horton College – the same high school she went to ten years ago along with her best friend, Fiona. But Fiona died in an accident on their graduation night, in circumstances Sadie’s spent the last ten years trying to forget, and since then nothing’s been the same.

Now Sadie’s jobless and living with Fiona’s mother Jan, the woman who’s watched over Sadie since she was a little girl, and the one person Sadie would do anything to protect. But when Sadie hears that Horton schoolgirl Devon Hundley has gone missing, everything changes. Devon is the daughter of Philip Hundley – wealthy school donor, local doctor, and a man Sadie knows all too well. And now Sadie can’t help remembering the last time she saw Devon – and heard her whisper something Sadie’s been trying ever since to forget…

A gripping page-turner of family secrets and buried lies, for fans of Kerry Lonsdale, Diane Chamberlain, and Liane Moriarty.

The Silent Daughter is the debut novel for Claire Amarti and it is one cracker of a read! I was completely blown away by this haunting tale and I could not get enough of it. It is a story that is full of tension and suspense with twists and turns as secrets and lies are uncovered. Do yourself a favour and add The Silent Daughter to your reading list for 2020. You will not be disappointed.

Claire has crafted a chilling tale that incorporates two storylines that are both told from the point of view from main protagonist Sadie. While reading the story, I always had a feeling of unease which heighten throughout as Claire took me on the journey to find out what happened to missing schoolgirl Devon Hundley. The secondary storyline focusses on Sadie’s best friend Fiona and her death 10 years prior on their graduation night at the same school where Devon Hundley has gone missing from.

Claire has done a great job with the characters in this story. They are all very well rounded and believable in the roles that they play. I also really enjoyed Claire’s writing style and how she was able to keep me hooked and engaged throughout. I was so caught up in the story and was unable to tear myself away from it. A new author to me, Claire is now on my radar and I look forward to reading what she comes up with next.

The Silent Daughter is a fantastic debut that is a captivating and breathtaking read. It is fast-paced and will get you in its clutches right from the get-go as you race through the pages to see how it is all going to unfold. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review The Silent Daughter which I highly recommend.

Thank you to Claire Amarti for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Silent Daughter which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. As I am from Australia, unfortunately, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

Let’s Get to Know Claire

I’m an author who writes suspense stories about ordinary women – women like the ones we all know and love – who find out that their ordinary lives may not be quite so ordinary after all! My hope is that you will root for them, fear for them, and find yourself holding your breath when the action starts to get a little hairy!

When I’m not doing writing, I can be found strolling the streets of Brooklyn, New York City, my adopted home, dodging pigeons and traffic. I moved here a little over eight years ago – I hail from Ireland originally – and never looked back. To me there’s nothing more wonderful than that feeling of finding – or making! – a new home, that mixture of excitement at finding a place in the world, and the comfort of being able to come back to it time and again. That’s what reading feels like for me… and for you too I suspect! It’s also the same joy I get from writing. I hope my books can become a kind of home for you too: a place where you can trust that you’ll find a wonderful adventure, and then land safe and sound at the end of it all, ready to do it all again another day!

Stay up to date with Claire’s work by signing up to the mailing list on her website and by following her on these social media accounts and Amazon.

|  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  | Amazon |

Share the book love

Comment