Would you risk everything…#Review #PublicationDay #Gamble #PsychologicalThriller @anitamayw @Bloodhoundbook

Today I am thrilled to be sharing my review on its publication day for Gamble by Anita Waller published by Bloodhound Books.

Book Details

Gamble by Anita Waller
Release Date: 25th of May 2020
Format: Kindle
Print Length: 298 pages
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Buy Links:
|   Amazon   | 
Please note that this is not an affiliated link

Book Blurb

Would you risk everything?

Carla Andrews and Lorraine West are work colleagues and best friends. They socialise together, they work in the same bookmakers and they support each other as only best friends can.

Then they are murdered together.

When DI Tom Fowler is handed the case, he discovers a journal that Carla has left and must unpick the secrets Lorraine has kept hidden.

Soon Carla’s and Lorraine’s husbands become the main suspects. It’s usually the spouse who is responsible, isn’t it?

The investigation progresses until Isaac West, Lorraine’s sixteen-year-old son, disappears.

Will the truth ever emerge?

Will Isaac ever be found?

And is knowing the truth always worth the sacrifice?

Anita Waller is the internationally bestselling author of multiple thrillers including; 34 DaysThe Kat and Mouse Series and the co-authored LiarsGamble is an unmissable psychological thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like C.L. Taylor, Fiona Barton and B A Paris.

It is no secret if you follow my blog that I am a huge fan of Anita’s work. A born storyteller, every book she releases just turns to gold and Gamble is no exception. I absolutely loved this book and I think you will too!

Full of secrets, lies and deceit, Gamble is a real page turner and hits the ground running right from the get go. It has an intricate plot that draws you in and sweeps you up into its drama, where you find yourself unable to tear yourself away for even a moment! The tone of the book is set very early on and it continues throughout as Anita takes you on a wild ride full of twists and turns, in the lead up to its thrilling conclusion.

All of the characters have been well developed and very well written. The characters of DI Tom Fowler and DS Holly Jones are a match made in heaven and are the real standouts in the story. They have been written so perfectly and work so well together, that I would love to see them featured again in another book or even better, a new series (hint hint, nudge nudge!)

There are many things that Anita excels at, but I think what I admire the most about her as an author is, she is definitely a risk taker and no one is safe! Her plots are always unique, fresh and original, as are her characters, but just don’t get to close to them… Most importantly though, is how she engages her readers through her writing which is always flawless and connects with you immediately.

If you have not been exposed to Anita’s work, you are definitely missing out! Gamble is a great addition to a bibliography that is already full of first class reads, so do yourself a favour and pick up a copy of Gamble today! You won’t be disappointed.

Thank you to Anita Waller for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Gamble which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Amazon Australia, Amazon US, Barnes & Noble and Waterstones. As I am from Australia, unfortunately, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

Let’s Get to Know Anita

Anita was born in Sheffield, South Yorkshire and has lived all her life there. She has three adult children and seven grandchildren ranging in age from 9 months to 21 years. Anita and Dave have been married almost 49 years!

She wrote Beautiful in 1985 and had it accpted for publication. They were the contract stage when the publishing house went into liquidation.

Like many another book it ended up in the loft until two years ago when she resurrected it, retyped all 100,000 words (it was orginally written on an Amstrad 8256 and all she had was a hard copy!) and sent it off to Bloodhound Books.

She is now retired from my life of being a Patchwork Tutor and HGV driver’s wife and concentrates on patchwork for the pleasure of it and writing. She started writing at around the age of 8 – she clearly remembers writing ‘novels’ at that age which were actually short stories split into chapters!

Anita’s genre is murder – but murder with a good reason behind it!

To keep up to date on Anita’s work you can follow her on these social media accounts.

|  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |

Publisher

Stay up to date with upcoming releases from Bloodhound Books by checking out their website and following them on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |   Twitter  |   Instagram  |

Share the book love

Comment