Can you ever escape the past… #Review #TheGirlIUsedToBe #PsychologicalThriller @thewriterjude @Bloodhoundbook

Today I am bringing you my review on it’s publication day for The Girl I Used To Be by J.A. Baker, published by Bloodhound Books.

Book Details

The Girl I Used To Be by J.A. Baker
Release Date: 6th of July 2020
Format: Kindle
Print Length: 282 pages
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Buy Links:
|   Amazon   | 
Please note that this is not an affiliated link

Book Blurb

Can you ever escape the past?

Stella is a teacher in a secondary school in the village of West Compton, North Yorkshire. She and her partner Wade appear to have the perfect life, but after receiving a series of threatening letters, her life takes a sinister turn.

Stella is forced to examine her past to find out who is behind the letters. All evidence points to a man with whom she had a one-night stand.

Deciding to confront him, Stella soon discovers he is not the one responsible and must delve deeper into her past.

After a visit to her estranged alcoholic mother, Stella is forced to look even closer to home.

Meanwhile, the threats escalate. 

But who is behind the campaign of hate and why? 

Stella is about to find out…

J.A. Baker is the internationally bestselling author of psychological thrillers, including The Other MotherUndercurrent and The Woman at Number 19The Girl I Used to Be twisting and utterly compelling psychological suspense. It will appeal to fans of authors like S.E. Lynes, K.L. Slater and Lucy Dawson.  

Holy moly what a read this is! For once I am actually at a loss for words, so this may well be my shortest review ever! The phrase less is more couldn’t be more fitting than it is when talking about this book.

Judith has crafted a story that will have you hooked right from the beginning and doesn’t let up until the final page. There is no way I can talk about the plot as I may accidentally give something away, but what I will say is, make sure you have no other things to do when starting this one as you will not be able to put it down.!

This is the first book I have read of Judith’s and let me say that it will not be my last! With a strong plot and a cast of characters that have been written perfectly, I was immediately drawn into this world that she has created and through writing that is so vivid and emotive, I felt like I was a character also experiencing the story. I was mentally exhausted when I was done and I was so invested in it which made the reading experience all the more thrilling.

The Girl I Used To Be will have you glued to its pages and have you second guessing everything! An engrossing story that will have you reading well into the early hours and is one story that will have you still thinking about it long after you finish it. Oh and one other thing make sure you have the tissues handy… It was a pleasure to read and review The Girl I Used to Be which I highly recommend.

Thank you to the publicity team at Bloodhound Books and Judith Baker for allowing me to read an advanced readers copy of The Girl I Used to Be which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalleyApple Books, Kobo, Google Play, Barnes & Noble & Waterstones if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

Let’s Get to Know Judith Baker

J. A. Baker was born and brought up in the North East of England and Undercurrent was her debut novel, making it into the Top 100 on Amazon.

Her other books, Her Dark Retreat and The Other Mother, released in 2018 were Top 100 Bestsellers on Amazon, closely followed by Finding Eva, The Uninvited and The Cleansing which was released in April 2019.

When she’s not writing, she can be found pottering around her garden with her madcap dog, Theo.

Stay up to date with Judith’s work by following her on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Goodreads  |

Publisher

Stay up to date with upcoming releases from Bloodhound Books by checking out their website and following them on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |   Twitter  |   Instagram  |

Share the book love

Comment