The adventure is deadly… #Review #Epitaph #MurderMystery @anitamayw @Bloodhoundbook

Today I am so thrilled to be sharing my review on its publication day for Epitaph by Anita Waller published by Bloodhound Books.

Book Details

Epitaph by Anita Waller
Release Date: 11th of August 2020
Format: Kindle
Print Length: 292 pages
Genre: Murder Mystery
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Buy Links:
|   Amazon   | 
Please note that this is not an affiliated link

Book Blurb

A letter stirs up the past. A missing person. A gruesome murder.

Pensioner and Private Investigator Doris Lester has taken a well-deserved break from work. She’s planned a holiday with her best friend Wendy on a journey across the Yorkshire and Derbyshire Dales.But before they depart a letter arrives, and the contents stir up trouble and memories of the past.

Soon Doris and Wendy are drawn into the mystery surrounding a troubled family, a missing person and gruesome murder.

When Doris and Wendy join the investigation, intriguing revelations about Doris’s past and present surface, which shock even those closest to her.

Step by step they uncover familial secrets that could tear a family even further apart. Together can Wendy and Doris solve the mystery and if they do, will their lives ever be the same again?

Epitaph is a completely addictive murder mystery featuring one of the most loved characters from the international bestselling Kat and Mouse series but can be read as a brilliant stand-alone. It will appeal to fans of authors like Faith Martin, Joy Ellis, Betty Rowlands and Agatha Christie.

Anita Waller is also the bestselling author of multiple thrillers, including Gamble34 Days and Captor.

Once again I find myself shouting out about the Kat and Mouse series which I do not make any apologies for. If you have read my reviews for these books, then this is no surprise and you can only imagine how thrilled and excited I was to hear that Anita was giving my beloved Doris a standalone book of her own.

Although not a title character in the Kat and Mouse series, Doris for me is the standout and is the character who makes these stories so memorable and enjoyable, so it made sense that Anita would give Doris her own story. She really is the ray of sunshine that we all need at the moment with a world that is currently so dark.

For Doris’ first outing on her own, we see her having a well earned break from Connection as she plans a trip with her best friend Wendy, to the Yorkshire and Derbyshire Dales to visit cemeteries of the infamous and famous. But just as they are about to depart, Doris receives a letter containing a shocking revelation that puts an end to their trip and instead embroils them both in a new mystery to solve.

What I was really excited about the most with this book, is how we are given an insight into Doris’ past that we haven’t really been made privy too in the Kat and Mouse series. Epitaph brings her vulnerable side out of her and this just makes her all the more appealing, believable, relatable and gosh darn it, loveable!

I absolutely love Wendy and she compliments Doris so well, even to the point of nearly stealing the show. She is also such a ray of sunshine and they are a formidable team. I enjoyed how she gets into the thick of it all and really has the time of her life helping Doris with the case. They definitely give Rosemary and Thyme a run for their money that’s for sure!

In true Anita form, she doesn’t hold back and play things safe and I have learnt now to always have the tissues at the ready when reading her books. She really is a rare gem in the writing community and I just adore her work

Thank you Anita for providing me with an advanced readers copy  of Epitaph which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play, Barnes & Noble & Waterstones if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

Let’s Get to Know Anita

Anita was born in Sheffield, South Yorkshire and has lived all her life there. She has three adult children and seven grandchildren ranging in age from 9 months to 21 years. Anita and Dave have been married almost 49 years!

She wrote Beautiful in 1985 and had it accpted for publication. They were the contract stage when the publishing house went into liquidation.

Like many another book it ended up in the loft until two years ago when she resurrected it, retyped all 100,000 words (it was orginally written on an Amstrad 8256 and all she had was a hard copy!) and sent it off to Bloodhound Books.

She is now retired from my life of being a Patchwork Tutor and HGV driver’s wife and concentrates on patchwork for the pleasure of it and writing. She started writing at around the age of 8 – she clearly remembers writing ‘novels’ at that age which were actually short stories split into chapters!

Anita’s genre is murder – but murder with a good reason behind it!

To keep up to date on Anita’s work you can follow her on these social media accounts.

|  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |

Publisher

Stay up to date with upcoming releases from Bloodhound Books by checking out their website and following them on these social media accounts.

|   Facebook  |   Twitter  |   Instagram  |

Share the book love

Comment